American Identity

Our Melting Pot

Many foreigners assume that Americanism is a beautiful thing; something to be proud of. People from all around the world see the United States as a safe-haven, where there is room for growth, agency and hospitality. However, great deals of American citizens often take the country for granted, why is this? What does it mean to be American?

Growing up I believed being American meant that everyone had a chance at a great education, well paying jobs, homes and more. I have come to understand however, that Americanism is a culture, a form of solidarity that demonstrates an appreciation we have for each other. In John Winthrop’s A Model of Christianity Charity, he writes

“…we ought to account ourselves knit together by this bond of love, and live in the exercise of it…” (pg 156).

This connects to my idea of solidarity because just as Christians have a practice they share with other Christians, we as Americans share a similar practice that integrates us as a functioning society.

I believe that to be American we have to accept the pros and cons of our civilization. Many times our system fails us and we live with consequences of those events. Winthrop admits

“[Christians] partake of each other’s strength and infirmity; joy and sorrow, weal and woe” (pg 153),

…which reminds me of my neighborhood solidarity. After a couple of robberies in my area, members of the community created a neighborhood watch program. Another good instance was moving into the neighborhood and making friends with the cashier at the deli. When he learned I was new to the neighborhood, he gifted my family a Chinese calendar. In my opinion, this is an ultimate form of Americanism because the citizenship is looking out for others while still expressing a form of integration.

So why do we take our country for granted? I do not know. I love my country and I especially love my city, however I can see how people are tired of our corrupt systems. Many do not understand the American Dream (homes, well playing jobs/business and education) is just an aura wrapped around our heads to prevail our nation. Nonetheless, I try to stay informed but still carry a positive attitude about my surroundings and my fellow Americans.

Photo Cred: https://www.theodysseyonline.com/missing-ingredient-americas-melting-pot

4 thoughts on “Our Melting Pot

  1. I like how you made the quotes from the reading pop out. I also like how you mentioned the fact that in your community there is a neighborhood watch program, I feel like all communities should have something like a neighborhood watch program.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed the anecdotes you incorporated to relate the blog post back to you. I also like the overall message of this post. Americas can be prideful and love their country but also experience resentment when the system fails us or becomes corrupt from our point of view. The quotes from John Winthrop also tied in nicely with the post because it reflected your idea of American identity to Christianity and showed parallels between the two. Overall, I enjoyed reading this post. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoyed the aesthetics of how you incorporated your quotes! It’s also really nice how you relate your personal stories with the readings as well. I do agree with how there are pros and cons of being an American. It is strange how we are independent yet reliant of each other in certain ways to function as a whole. Everyone wants to do well in terms of education, employment, and having a nuclear family, hence the aspects of the American Dream. Even though there is still a lot of corruption, it is great that you chose to be informed and positive about being an American.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice post! I especially liked this thought: “In my opinion, this is an ultimate form of Americanism because the citizenship is looking out for others while still expressing a form of integration.” Integration has a great deal to do with interdependency, and I’m glad you pointed this out! Also, I really like the featured photo you chose. What do y’all think about the fact that the “melting pot” is also washing the flags? Does this speak to what we’ve been talking about with the word “civilization”?

    Like

Leave a Reply

