American Identity

What it means to be an American

usa-hockey-jersey-crest
Photo taken from via google

I would think that the questions, “What does it mean to be an American or Are you an American?” can be answered in many. As for me personally yes, I am an American. I was born and raised here. My parents are Americans. They are of Puerto Rican heritage which means so am I. Being American means that I live in the greatest nation in the world. Not a perfect country, but a pretty darn good one. I have certain rights such as the freedom of speech. I can say what I believe even if others disagree with me.

Growing up I might not have been so aware or passionate of what it means to be an American.  I have noticed that I am particularly patriotic when it comes to sports. You see I love the sport of hockey and when team USA plays in international tournaments, I’m always rooting for USA, just like I did for the USA athletes in the Olympics. I wanted USA to win and be strong because there is a sense of pride when they win.

When La Casas’ mentions in his passage, “The Spaniards made a rule among themselves that for every Christian slain by the Indians, they would slay a hundred Indians.”  Today not to the extreme  mentioned in the passage, but it seems that if a police officer shoots a person, people want to retaliate by killing or harming a police offer. To me my mother always told me two wrongs do not make a right.

Today Colin Kaepernick has decided to make a statement by not standing during the National Anthem.  He said “”I am not going to stand up to show pride in a flag for a country that oppresses black people and people of color.” Do I agree with what he and other athletes are doing? No, I feel like they should stand. The flag to me is a symbol of pride and of our freedom. I have family members who have fought and died for this country. I feel they should find other ways to protest.

Does this make Colin Kaepernick less American, or not an American, I don’t think so. Being an American is very personal and it can mean having a different meaning to different people, based on their own life experience.

P.S. Currently, Team USA is playing another international hockey tournament. There is also a team that has Canada and USA players playing together called North America. If you guys wanna root for the teams, the tournament is called World Cup Of Hockey and is on ESPN. 🙂

I found this videos off of Youtube that talks about what it is like living in America

Hyperlinks:

http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap3000000691077/article/colin-kaepernick-explains-why-he-sat-during-national-anthem

Books:

Las Casas, The Very Brief Relation of the Devastation of the Indies

Videos:
We are mitú
Pero Like

 

3 thoughts on “What it means to be an American

  1. I really love your sense of patriotism! I felt your pride in America just emanating from the post as I read it, which is absolutely a good thing! Amidst all the horrors going on throughout the country, with numbers of shootings within the country exceeding the number of days in the year, the continued news of police brutalities, and the overall amount of hate just seeming to build up, it’s very rare to see someone that still has the hopes to remain so patriotic in my opinion. As for the incident with Kaepernick, I’m sorry to hear about your loss of a loved one, however, if the very foundations of America is based on freedom, is it necessarily wrong for someone to not show respect towards something they feel is wrong in an effort to change that said something into something worthy of respect? i.e. Kaepernick having the freedom to not show respect towards the flag because of what it stands for in an effort to change the meaning of the flag into something worthy of respect?
    Yes countless soldiers have given up their lives for the country, but not because the country is the greatest and is always right, but for the people to strive to make America great and for us to correct our wrongs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s like I can hear you talking directly to me. I liked how you started off mentioning your Puerto Rican heritage and how you identify as an American. I could definitely hear your voice when you explain your patriotism when it comes to sports which I completely forgot was a huge part of the American culture. It seems that the class is your targeted audience when you bring up Las Casas, nonetheless your comparison of it to today’s cases of police brutality was intriguing. Also I did not know who the Colin Kaepernick was, so I was happy you included a link to an article discussing his situation. It made me smile reading your post script where you talk about the US hockey team currently playing and your invitation for readers to join in watching/rooting for the US team. It emphasizes your unique form of patriotism and it’s refreshing to read this intimate type of invitation between you the author and me the reader.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

