Environmental Justice & Sustainability

Just Unplug It!

img_6712
Photo taken by Nadine Cavanaugh

Despite that being environmentally conscious is something that looms in the back of my mind, I will be the first to admit it can be difficult to act in accordance with this environmental consciousness. We all want to take shorter, cooler showers, but at the end of a long day it can be hard to scrape yourself out of that comfortable vacuum. For me, the biggest challenge is turning off the lights when I leave the room. Normally, I do not make a habit of this, but when you have to plug your lights in every time you need light, it becomes too easy to just leave the lights on as you go in and out of the room.

I found in an article by Renee Cho that New York City is the most wasteful megacity in the world. With its population of over 22 million people, this is unsurprising. Between the buildings which use up this energy, transportation and fuel needs, and other miscellaneous needs, apparently I’m not alone in my squandering. Cho goes on to say that as megacities become wealthier, they waste more per capita; this is frightening, because the as the global population goes up, cities will become more densely packed in time. The subway just got even more unpleasant.

Going back to my point about being environmentally conscious, this is only half of environmental justice. The other half, in my opinion, consists of following through with the awareness one has of their actions. For me, I need to stop being lazy and just unplug the lights when I’m not using them. This will not only end my hypocrisy of not being energy efficient, but it will be easier on Mother Earth (and the electric bill). This, combined with the recent solar panels our landlord had installed onto our home, will surely make some sort of difference. Now the real test is: can I do it?

One thought on “Just Unplug It!

  1. Great post! I think this insight is really important: “Going back to my point about being environmentally conscious, this is only half of environmental justice. The other half, in my opinion, consists of following through with the awareness one has of their actions.” That’s exactly it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

