Nature Walk

Stream of Consciousness: Nature Walk Edition

Tuesday

November 8, 2016

Election Day

It’s 4:00PM

I’ve voted and finished two papers

It’s been a productive day

I really need to go on the nature walk before the sun goes down

Now I have to walk through the city to get to nature

Central Park

I don’t know how to feel about that

Nature isn’t really around me

Buildings are all I see

I have to travel to be in nature

The cons of being a New Yorker

It’s 4:17PM

I’m waiting for a friend

An old high school friend

Why not hang out and complete an assignment?

Kill two birds with one stone

Metaphorically of course

They’re late, but I’m not surprised

Somethings don’t change

We walk toward the park

It’s 4:25PM now

We’re here

Central Park

Not a bad view

I should take pictures

fullsizeoutput_1b69

via Me

A “natural” escape from this urban jungle

Black and white

Day and night

It’s almost a different world here

The sun is beginning to set

Thanks daylights saving

Honestly, thanks

Everything is so picturesque

The park feels different around this time

The weather is perfect

Not too cold

Not too hot

We walk around a pond

It’s dirty, but what do you expect

It feels easier to breathe

Is this man-made park actually nature?

It seems to have the same physical effect as it

The wind begins to pick up

It’s brisk now

We’re both not dressed for the weather

We pick up the pace

They venture off the beaten path

I follow

Why are the birds more audible now?

I found myself suddenly neighbor to the birds

There’s a creepy man just standing ahead

We start talking about whatever we could think of

Silence is deadly

We’ve walk here before but it’s under construction

Nothing was wrong with it

Is it really necessary?

We stare at the nature that is restricted from us

fullsizeoutput_1b6f
via Me

We continue walking

We walk up some rocks to find another pond

Night has consumed the city

Good thing for these lamp posts

No, wait

Darkness is a part of nature

These lights have stripped the integrity of nature

Is that a waterfall?

In Central Park?

I hear it but I can’t see it

It’s too dark now

Thanks daylights saving

I hear an ambulance

Traffic

I now see the lit buildings surrounding the park

It’s 5:28PM

We leave the park and return to our concrete jungle


Source:

Thoreau, Henry David. “Where I Lived, and What I Lived For.” Walden, Civil Disobedience, and Other Writings: Authoritative Texts, Journal, Reviews and Posthumous Assessments, Criticism. Ed. William John Rossi. New York: W.W. Norton, 2008. 61. Print

2 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness: Nature Walk Edition

  1. Hi there!
    I really like your creative blog post. I especially enjoy these lines: “Nothing was wrong with it/ Is it really necessary?/ We stare at the nature that is restricted from us” and ” No, wait/ Darkness is part of nature” I think these lines are brilliant! It shows the perhaps cruel reality of how people manipulate nature when nature could perhaps already be perfect the way it is. Of course, humans could do work on the environment to make it more accessible and pleasant to people. So I think both points of view are valid. In your poem, I was able to experience your point of view on such topics through the reactions in your stream of consciousness. I think this form of poetry worked very well for writing about your nature walk. Awesome job!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

