Nature Walk

God Speaks Through Nature

img_3932
Photo taken by Michelle Zak-Strzalka

For my Early American Literature class, I was assigned to take an hour long nature walk and write about the experience. So I walked to a park nearby my home in New Jersey, and once I reached it I sat by the Saddle River and watched the leaves float across the water. A leaf fell on my head and scared me. This reminded me of how out of touch I had been with nature recently.

I began to really miss my childhood and the past summer, when I spent a lot of time outdoors. Since the fall semester began, I’ve been spending most of my time in moldy buildings, crowded transit, and the concrete grid of NYC. I contemplated why I had even chosen to be a city person when nature is so beautiful and free from distractions. At that moment, I just wanted to sit in nature as Thoreau did, and write. My thoughts would be clearer; I would be less distracted; and my writing would be of pure, profound, and simple topics, rather than of bleak thoughts influenced by corruption.

There are many things to realize from nature. When I took a moment to focus on the environment, I saw so many leaves of all different shapes and shades. I thought, people are like these leaves: they are all so individually unique. And just like leaves dry up and fall from trees when the time comes, people too, dry up and their spirits detach from their earthly bodies.

Then I moved my eyes up a few inches and noticed the roots of the trees—the trees’ roots seemed to be intertwining with one another. And the trees themselves stood right on the edge of the water and were slightly leaning towards it. There are so many things to be realized from each simple occurrence in nature.

img_3944
Photo taken by Michelle Zak-Strzalka

In his essay Nature, Emerson writes that, “all spiritual facts are represented by natural symbols. The same symbols are found to make the original elements of all languages.” I find it so interesting he says this because it holds true to what I believe and what my pastor preaches—that nature is Heaven’s language and God speaks through nature. So, it makes sense that all languages evolved from symbols of nature. And it is sad and true that, just as Emerson writes, “the corruption of man is followed by the corruption of language.” “Corruption of language” could mean slang and curse words in human languages like English, and also of the destruction of nature, which is the language God uses to speak to human beings.

Slang and curse words aren’t beautiful—such words are often used with strong negative opinions or during emotional rebellion. They arise from the corruption of humanity and taint language. Of course, people have become corrupt partly because they themselves have corrupted nature, which offers peace, clarity, and well-being. If people, who use profanity and slang even though they know better ways of speaking, spend some time in nature to clear their thoughts, they would probably use more positive and beautiful language.

And of course civilization is a necessity, but in order to prevent degrading the environment people live in, civilization should be done well— even artistically— and never haphazardly or focusing on money and power. Humans naturally attune to the environment, so more industrial and less natural environments result in problems, but a well-designed city with lots of trees and nature incorporated into the plan would suffice. People could live in a modernized community as long as there are enough trees to filter the pollution produced by cars and the negativity people sometimes carry. It’s amazing how nature filters not only physical pollution, but also mental pollution, and in a way, also aids in cleansing spiritual pollution.

There is much to be realized from looking at nature, and it is easier for us to be enlightened by looking at God’s direct creation, rather than man’s second creation. I need to go out into nature much, much more, no matter how busy I am in what people call “the greatest city in the world.”

 

5 thoughts on “God Speaks Through Nature

  1. This was a really good read, I also agree that being in the city can kind of detach us from nature. Like you said we become out of touch and its really scary how we can forget natures touch. Also I really liked how you pointed out the effects of Nature on our writing, because we do often become distracted by outside sources whether that be through our phone or by other surroundings, and in a way being free of that can benefit our writing because our thoughts,feelings, or ideas are well thought and reflective of what we are thinking in the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey, I found your blog post interesting! Especially the part where you talked about cursing and slang as being “the destruction of nature.” It made me think about the integration of “curses” in society today. Originally used in a negative way, curses are now just used as a part of everyday speech. Furthermore, I feel as though avoiding curses in general forces one to be more aware of negative emotions within the self, and in turn the substituted words in themselves come out with a more negative intent than a casually used slang word. Coming from someone who gave up on using curse words my junior year of high school, I realized that in my attempt to stop cursing, I wound up more conscious of my negative thoughts when I used substituted words such as, “frick,” “shoot,” “crud,” and the like. I would love to hear your input on these thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoyed reading about your thoughts on how you have experienced God in nature. The part that particularly resonated with me was your take on what language degradation looks like. I have within the last couple years become increasingly interested in language development and other topics in linguistics. I personally prefer not to curse because I don’t think that curse words suit who I am, however, I am not sure that I would agree that curse words are a symbol of language corruption. I say this because, often, people use profanity as intensifiers to signify to the listener deep emotion but that does necessarily make it not “beautiful” to me as that is a relative term and will differ from person to person. Some people definitely sound scary and mean when usinf profanity but it’s not always the case. Intensifying words are one of the most creative parts of language. Why say “no” when you can say “absolutely positively NOT” (I added some intensity). Well done in your critique, you really got me thinking about language and the nature of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

